Skip to content

Take Me To London

October 16, 2012
You all may not know this but both my sister and I have been waiting for the JW ANDERSON X TOPSHOP collaboration to be sold in Manila for a while now. It’s funny cause when I told her that the pieces were available here, she didn’t believe me up until we got to Topshop in Rockwell! HAHAHA!

While browsing through the clothes (with the lack of a better term) in person, I couldn’t help but get this whole school girl chic meets punk meets American high school preppy; The items are both classic and playful at the same time! They have cool conversational prints including turtles and zebras which are not only printed on tops but on bottoms as well! I’ll blog about one of those pieces soon!

Well, for those of you who don’t know who JW Anderson is, here are a few tid bits about him: He is a British-born designer and for those wondering, JW stands for Jonathan William.

He began pursuing a career in acting before deciding to study menswear at the London College of Fashion where he graduated in 2005 (MY DREAM SCHOOL). His eponymous label was launched in 2008, initially as a men’s collection, branching into a capsule collection for women for A/W’11 at the request of fans and stockists of previous collections! Yes, he really is that good!

| Sweater and Pleated Skirt: JW ANDERSON X TOPSHOP | Heels: Topshop | Hat: Forever 21 |

So when my sister and I found out that he was to collaborate you can only imagine how ecstatic we both were!! To think, we didn’t expect the pieces to make its way over to the shores of Manila but thankfully it did and she and I surely bought a ton of pieces!

My ultimate favorite piece (which I saw here in Manila) would have to be this pleated skirt. It’s not only very classy but it’s just such an interesting piece to have in ones closet. I don’t know why but I surely have this attraction to pleated skirts so when I saw this, I knew I just had to run to the cashier and buy it!

The sweaters as also super comfy!! AHHH!! And I love the subtle JW logo on this one, they have other ones like plain black and navy ones with a bigger JW embroidered in white. Very cute as well!

Here’s a video I found on YouTube of JW Anderson talking about his collection, what inspired him, his favorite pieces from the collection and so much more! I find it so interesting hearing how designers come up with their pieces and which ones they like. You sort of get to know them a little more that way.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2012 7:01 pm

    Love the preppy look, Patricia! I agree, that skirt is really worth-keeping!!!! πŸ™‚ Versatile it is!

    Gem
    http://gemnikkaonthego.blogspot.com

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      October 16, 2012 7:26 pm

      Thanks, Gem!! πŸ˜‰ I can’t wait to try and style this skirt another way! Ahhhh!! πŸ˜€

  2. October 16, 2012 9:40 pm

    how cute! looks good on you… ey, why don’t you try tv hosting? you speak well and very smart…

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      October 17, 2012 1:37 am

      Thank you so much, Miljo! I’m glad I’m getting good feedback about the clothes actually! YAY! πŸ™‚

      Aww, you think so? Hmmm, well, let’s see! You’ll never know! πŸ˜‰

  3. October 16, 2012 9:45 pm

    I love this look dear! nice hat! πŸ˜‰

    ..new profile pic? gorgeous! πŸ™‚

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      October 17, 2012 1:37 am

      Thank you so much!! πŸ™‚

      HAHA! Yeah, I felt like I needed to change it to a photo of mine with my new short hair πŸ™‚ Glad you like it! Again, thank you πŸ™‚

  4. Pinky dela Merced permalink
    October 17, 2012 12:45 am

    I love your photos!!! There’s really something that’s making you BLOOM!!!! Your blogs are so interesting and your photos are all so perfect. Keep it coming, idol!! πŸ™‚

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      October 17, 2012 1:39 am

      Awww, thank you so much, Pinky! Hmmm, bloom? I don’t know why you think that but, nevertheless, thank you!! πŸ™‚

  5. Simone Renee. permalink
    October 17, 2012 1:25 am

    You need to write better. Your posts are quite shallow. #justsaying.

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      October 17, 2012 1:42 am

      Well, I will honestly say that I started blogging not to become a writer but to just express myself. Also, my blog is a personal blog wherein, like what I just said, I express myself and my love for fashion. You may think it’s shallow but I might think otherwise πŸ™‚ It all boils down to ones writing preference. BUT! I do respect your opinion, so thanks for giving your two cents worth! πŸ™‚

      • simone renee permalink
        October 19, 2012 3:35 am

        Thanks for being nice about it. I really was just voicing out my opinion. I think its called constructive criticism. But you’re right, this is after all a fashion blog. I shouldn’t be all to concerned about the writing, I should pay more attention to the style. You’re doing great. You’d blend right in here in HK.

    • Ysa permalink
      October 17, 2012 9:27 am

      When I want to read substantial posts I go to more “serious” (for lack of a better term) blogs…not fashion blogs. In my opinion, it is okay if a fashion blog isn’t abloom with insightful and profound posts. It is, after all, a fashion blog, and should mainly be visual. πŸ™‚

      • Pinky dela Merced permalink
        October 18, 2012 12:17 am

        I agree. If I need to read substantial deep write ups, I would turn to a newspaper, or maybe a magazine like Newsweek. I go through fashion blogs to be inspired with how to wear stuff better and increase my fashion sense. Maybe a better (KINDER) word is “casual” and not shallow. Keep up the good work, Patricia πŸ˜€ #justsaying

  6. October 18, 2012 4:40 am

    love this look! so super chic!

  7. October 19, 2012 2:16 pm

    When I saw this post, my eyes zoomed in on the skirt. WANT.

Leave a Reply

