Skip to content

Hang With Me

August 28, 2012
I know you always see me in such casual and laid back (or as Cams and Laur like calling it, indie) looks so, for this post I wanted to play around with my usual pieces but incorporate a few new ones as well.

For this look, I wanted to try dressing up as if I was going to attend work or something. So, this is my take on corporate/work wear (Well, sorta). Thing is, I didn’t wear this to work or to a meeting cause I wore this look out to a fun filled afternoon with fellow bloggers (and friends) Tracy and Lissa! Okay, as of August 29, 2012, I’ve gotten comments about this look with regards to how it’s not suitable for work. Well, in my defense, I’d wear this to work IF and ONLY IF I had a job at lets say Preview, Teen Vogue or Nylon. If you follow their Instagram accounts you’ll know what I’m talking about.

| Top: Zara | Shorts: American Apparel | Shoes: Topshop | Bag: Celine | Detachable Collar: Apartment 8 | Sunnies: Random from Hong Kong | Bracelets: Extreme Finds (Gold and White), Mauve (Beads with Skull) and Random from my sister (Gold Beads) | Rings: Random from a Bazaar (Mustache Connector Ring) and SM Accessories (Gold Swirl Ring) |

I think the main attraction of this look of mine would have to be the collar. I love all the details, it surely adds a TON of character to this pretty much basic look. I won’t lie, I’m not the biggest fan of detachable collars but the moment I saw this piece, I honestly don’t know what happened to me! The first thing that popped into my head was that I just needed to have it! The moment I got home, I remember seeing this button down in my closet so I paired them together and VOILA! Now it looks like the collar is a part of my top — When in fact it isn’t! Cool, huh?

Okay, I heard this song a few months back and I couldn’t get it out of my head. Luckily, when I finished typing this look, it was time for the hard part of blogging (haha), giving my look post titles. By some stroke of luck, when I hit the shuffle/play buttons on iTunes this song started playing and I thought.. PERFECT! So, here’s Hang With Me by Robyn, this girl should get more credit. She’s got some amazing songs and impecable style as well!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 8:21 am

    I like so much your blog
    I’m in love with your shirt did you made it?? Is really beautyful and cool

    I’ll be so grateful if you could visit my blog and let there your opinion

    xoxo
    mymelroseavenue.blogspot.com.es

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 29, 2012 2:20 am

      Awww, thank you so much, Irene! πŸ™‚ I didn’t make my shirt, I bought it at Zara, haha!

  2. August 28, 2012 8:42 am

    I absolutely love this! And the pumps are to die for πŸ™‚

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 29, 2012 2:20 am

      Thank you so much!! πŸ˜€

  3. Pinky dela Merced permalink
    August 28, 2012 11:39 am

    I love your top!!! And the detachable collar is lovely.

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 29, 2012 2:21 am

      Thank you!!

  4. August 28, 2012 2:23 pm

    so love your top details!

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 29, 2012 2:21 am

      Thanks, Leila! πŸ™‚

  5. aprilbianca permalink
    August 28, 2012 11:03 pm

    this is NOT something i would wear to work, lest i be fired. collars (on a sheer top nonetheless) do not translate to work-appropriate. thank god you wore this for hanging out with your friends, because the short shorts will not cut it in a regular office scene. also,you might want to brush up on grammar and composition. the writing is terrible.

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 29, 2012 2:05 am

      I would surely wear this to work if I could, of course not something corporate! I see where you’re coming from cause I put corporate wear, I edited my post as well as explained myself. I just thought that it was a given that I, someone who loves fashion would work in the fashion industry. I’m a blogger and I’ve worn such a thing to meetings. I’m a stylist and I’ve worn such a thing when I style clients. I model and I’ve worn this before and after shoots. Those sort of jobs πŸ™‚ Hope you understand where I’m coming from! Also, I believe that my writing and composition is good. My blog is my PERSONAL style blog, so I write my entries in such a way that it’s fun, it’s candid and it’s easy to read πŸ™‚

      • Pinky dela Merced permalink
        August 29, 2012 2:44 am

        Patricia, I was just going through your blogs and I see these!!! OMG. Such big time haters…but I admire you even more now. Your candid and honest answers just show how well your parents have raised you and how confident you are of your skin. I wonder how those people look, dress up and fix their hair? I can only wish the best for you. I remain your fan.

      • aprilbianca permalink
        August 29, 2012 9:56 am

        that one seeks decent writing side is not, in your words, “hating.” constructive criticism should never be shunned, else one stands to miss on improvements. im being helpful. she’s a blogger, she is supposed to have a decent body of written work alongside beautiful pictures.

        hi patricia, my critique was not on your writing style – im an editor of a law journal and know a thing or two about respecting/preserving the writer’s voice. it is the very composition that is the problem. your blog can be fun, candid, and real, without having to suffer elementary mistakes in composition and grammar. such is a point you should consider, if you seek to improve on what you deem to be one of your jobs. being able to compose properly is the very key to effective (written) communication. had you been thoughtful of such, there would unlikely be a need to correct your entry. i trust that you take criticism more wisely and gracefully than your readers,
        and see this as a valid albeit harsh form of extending help.

        • Patricia Prieto permalink*
          August 29, 2012 12:22 pm

          I know where you’re coming from, so don’t worry. I guess what my blog reader meant to do was defend me cause in all honesty your comment comes off a bit (with the lack of a better term) condescending, please don’t take it the wrong way. Everyone has their opinion, you voiced yours and so did she πŸ™‚ Let’s not ponder on it anymore, yes? πŸ™‚

          Anyway, thanks for the advice. I’ll keep that in mind, again, thank you! Maybe next time, you can email me instead so that there won’t be any misunderstandings in the future πŸ™‚

  6. August 28, 2012 11:48 pm

    This is your take on corporate wear? I mean come on, you can’t include denim shorts in the corporate wear list, even if it’s black.Haha! It’s just inappropriate! Imagine you attending a corporate meeting, in shorts?

    PS.
    Please fix your hair.

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 29, 2012 1:53 am

      Yup! This is actually my take on corporate wear, aka work wear. I get where you’re coming from, I didn’t mean it in the literal sense that I’d wear this to a serious sort of desk job. I for one have worked for a company and I know what and what not to wear to the office. I mean come on, do you honestly think I’d wear this to a big corporate job? Haha! I was thinking more on the lines of a job at Preview, Nylon or at Teen Vogue (follow them on Instagram and you’ll see what they wear) since those are the sort of jobs I’m more inclined to πŸ™‚

      PS: As for my hair, I don’t plan on changing it right now. I LOVE my hair and I love how it’s so different! It’s my preference so I hope you understand πŸ™‚

  7. Thet Mayormita permalink
    October 16, 2012 8:48 am

    hey Patricia love your style, specially when your on your sneakers! I was just wondering where can I get/order that mustache ring you’re wearing?? I really love it!
    Please I hope you can answer me through @prieythet on twitter. THANKS MUCH! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

