Skip to content

Sweet Talking, Sugar Coated Candyman

August 14, 2012
Just because I really wanted to share this look with you all as soon as possible, I actually rearranged my drafted look posts and bumped this a couple of notches up. Anyway, yesterday was the birthday of my ever so awesome mum and I decided to wear this dress out to lunch with her and my beautiful, 87 year old grandma. It was a lunch set for three generations and I loved every second of it!

The print of the fabric or should I say pretty much the entire look of the dress was perfect for a chill lunch at my grandma’s place. I even brought out my lilac sunnies to add a bit more colour to the look. What I love most is that it gave off this very 1940’s kind of vibe. It was such a coincidence that I wore this dress cause the stories that my grandma tells me are set! I was in theme, so to speak. Oh! Speaking of coincidences, my grandma told me this beautiful quotation, coincidences are little miracles. I love that!

A little story about this dress: Well, I got it during some sort of garage sale at the house of my mums friend. This dress was on top of the last pile I looked at; the moment I laid eyes on it I knew I had to have it. Funny cause, Pauline thought the same way! For once the fact that I was shorter than her was an advantage cause she only gave up on the dress when I told her it will be short for her — SCORE!

| Wrap – Around Dress: Kate Moss for Tophop | Sandals: Topshop | Bag: Gucci | Sunnies: Ray Ban | Ring and Tiger Bangle: Extreme Finds | Hair Elastic: Goody |

I kept my accessories to a minimum and opted for a ponytail since it was quite humid out (I blame the weather). Good thing I always have my trusty Goody elastics on my wrist as well as inside my makeup kit so I’ll always be ready for those unsuspected hair emergencies.

Before I end this, allow me to greet my mum (for the millionth time), HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU MUM. We have been through a lot and you have stood beside me and behind me all this time. There have been rough days but you and dad are and always have been my anchor. Thank you for all the advice and for being there for me. I will hold what Mama Nena shared with me today close to my heart. Now I know where you got the wisdom. Just like Mama Nena, you are the epitome of grace-under-pressure during difficulties and life in general. No wonder you are so loved by your family, friends and even my own friends!!! Thank you very much and I love you dearly. Enjoy the song as well, mum! I know you love it!!

If you read the text on my blog (which I hope you all do, haha) you’ll remember that I mentioned the whole thing about this dress reminding me of the forties. Well, I’m not keen on the music back then BUT one thing’s for sure, I remembered Christina Aguilera’s song Candyman and that the video was set in the forties. With that said, enjoy the song! It’s not the newest song out there but it’s definitely something I listen to, it’s a catchy and fun song!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2012 3:25 am

    Cool dress! Perfect for sunday lunch πŸ™‚ I love the look ❀

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 15, 2012 5:29 pm

      Thank you so much!! πŸ˜€ Glad you do!

  2. August 14, 2012 3:40 am

    your family is gorgeous – as is your dress! simply stunning and so 50’s!

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 15, 2012 5:30 pm

      Awww, thank you so much! That’s so sweet of you to say!! πŸ™‚

  3. August 14, 2012 5:19 am

    Your style is always clean and bold πŸ™‚ Love this look!

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 15, 2012 5:30 pm

      Thank you so much!! I try to switch things up whenever I can πŸ™‚

  4. Pinky dela Merced permalink
    August 14, 2012 5:27 am

    I love the whole outfit! I love the dress matched with the sandals and bag–PERFECTION! You have such a good looking mother. Now I know where you got the good looks!

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 15, 2012 5:31 pm

      OH WOW!! Such sweet things to say, thank you! πŸ™‚

  5. Faith aranas permalink
    August 14, 2012 6:44 am

    I love your dress here, now that’s a great find! πŸ™‚ happy birthday to your mum!!

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 15, 2012 5:32 pm

      Thanks, Faith!! Will be sure to let her know that you greeted her! Also, I’ll be sending you a follow up email about the Ray Ban Sunnies real soon, I’ve just been so busy!! 😦

  6. August 14, 2012 12:16 pm

    happy birthday mum!

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 15, 2012 5:32 pm

      Hahaha! Will pass the message on to her for sure πŸ˜‰

  7. August 14, 2012 12:23 pm

    LOVE the dress!

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 15, 2012 5:32 pm

      Thanks, Nicole! πŸ™‚

  8. August 14, 2012 1:50 pm

    very vintage. pretty dress! =)

    xoxo
    thelivingcloset.blogspot.com

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 15, 2012 5:32 pm

      Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

  9. August 14, 2012 2:05 pm

    Love the dress!!! πŸ™‚

    http://silverwriting818.blogspot.com

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      August 15, 2012 5:33 pm

      Thanks, Astrid!! πŸ˜€

  10. Lala permalink
    September 1, 2012 4:25 pm

    Emma Roberts wore the dress too! http://static.igossip.com/photos_2/december_2010/emma_roberts_red_dress_small.jpg

Leave a Reply

