Skip to content

Sticks and Stones

June 2, 2011
“You, with your switching sides, and your walk by lies and your humiliation. You, have pointed out my flaws again, as if I don’t already see them. I walk with my head down, trying to block you out cause I’ll never impress you. I just wanna feel okay again.” Just a little excerpt from one of my favorite songs, by one of my favorite singers of all time.. Taylor Swift. For some reason she tends to know exactly what I’m thinking in different stages and point in my life, but that’s not why I’m here. Yesterday, June 1 was pretty good day for me. I finally got to design a whole lot of approved designs at work that day and I was finally going to get to buy these markers I’ve been eye-ing for over a year now.. Things were great till I got home to KarmaFashPolice tweeting to me, telling me about a certain something. I already heard about parts of this prior to going home. the thing was I needed to see/read it for myself before making any judgement cause I vaguely knew what it was about. Right after work, I rushed home to a series of Tumblr posts and Tweets with regards to this certain issue between Lexi and a few of her friends with regards to me and other fashion bloggers. I was gobsmacked, with me in denial, I did try to joke about it at first — but not until I saw everything, and I mean everything. If you ask me, what was said about me (as well as Tricia, Laureen and Camille) weren’t as bad as what was stated about my good friends, JL and Lissa, they were just flat out WRONG. Oh yeah, I was a part of that Woo Girl album so, maybe that was for me too? I don’t know.. You tell me..



Well, this was where it all began.. Cause, apparently I look like Justin Bieber as a girl. (see photo above). As funny as it may seem, it still hurt. I’ve know Lexi and some of these girls since I was in high school and never did I ever think it would come to this. Oh, and to create a thread just for the plain reason of what? Talking smack about people? Why? Just cause you felt like it? Cause you wanted to make a joke out of people? I don’t get it. I’ve gotten hate mail, comments, tweets and more from haters but this was something different. Because I knew Lexi and those friends of hers personally, and I still don’t know what to think.. It just proves that people can be such fakes and be really good at it. I won’t lie, I do gossip as well, I’d be lying if I say that I never gossiped in my life.. I mean who doesn’t? It’s just unfortunate that this was brought into the public eye.. BUT never will I ever say such cruel things about others, and that I can vouch for without a doubt.

So, after reading both Lissa and JL’s posts here are somethings I agree with and I’d like to share them with you.. This one is from Lissa, “It’s natural to talk about other people, I’m not going to pretend by saying I don’t gossip about others because I DO. It’s a natural thing to do and let’s admit it, it can be kind of fun right?… Especially when we do it with our friends. The thing is, while you are entitled to your own opinion and entitled to pick your own side, it doesn’t mean that you have to be mean about it and go on a hating spree. It doesn’t mean that you endlessly curse, make fun and call other people names. Also, before doing anything, ALWAYS be prepared for the consequences of your actions.” and an excerpt from JL, “I didn’t quite know how to take it— how can people just bash at random? Is bashing supposed to be a hobby now? I feel the apology, if you could call it that, was for the fact that things were released to the public. The reason behind the hatred & bashing,were never accounted for. I deserved a better “apology” and an explanation… than this.

If you’re all wondering.. NO, I do not hate Lexi or those people involved, more of disappointed and I feel betrayed. NO, I will not talk smack about her or her friends just as they did. NO, I will not gang up on her of her friends. NO. NEVER. I’ll be the bigger person and try my VERY best to keep mum about this. I will rise above this, trust me. This is one of the many times the people who care for me give me the best advice. Knowing that, I’d like to thank my family and friends who have showed their love, it means the most to me. To you all, my dearest readers, thank you for reading my blog and giving me the inspiration to keep doing what I do, to keep moving forward, thank you. With that, I end this. But, I’d like to leave you with a few lines and the video of Taylor Swift’s song Mean. Let’s all learn from this, I know I have.. To all haters.. “Someday, I’ll be, living in a big old city, and all you’re ever gonna be is mean. Someday, I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me, and all you’re ever gonna be is mean. Why you gotta be so mean?”

44 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 10:52 am

    she lost everything now!
    still love you and your blog!

  2. June 2, 2011 10:58 am

    You and your blog are great! ignore the haters!

  3. June 2, 2011 11:03 am

    Hugs for you, Patricia! >:D< Stay strong and awesome. 🙂

  4. June 2, 2011 11:06 am

    I received 2 hate messages in formspring and it really pissed me off. I didn’t know who this person was but I let it go and moved on..Even laughed about it. After reading your post it all came clear to me. Haters are gonna hate because that’s what they’re just good at. They want to bring you down because they want to feel what it’s like to be on top. But still, I know we won’t let them. YOU GO GIRL!! You inspire me!

  5. June 2, 2011 11:16 am

    I love you forever and ever babe! And yes, I agree with this whole statement:

    “If you’re all wondering.. NO, I do not hate Lexi, more of disappointed and I feel betrayed. NO, I will not talk smack about her. NO, I will not gang up on her. NEVER. I’ll be the bigger person and try my VERY best to keep mum about this. I will rise above this, trust me. I’d like to thank my family and friends who have showed their love, it means the most to me. To you all, my dearest readers, thank you for reading my blog and giving me the inspiration to keep doing what I do, to keep moving forward, thank you. And with that, I end this. But, I’d like to leave you with a few lines and the video of Taylor Swift’s Mean. Let’s all learn from this, I know I have.. To all haters.. “Someday, I’ll be, living in a big old city, and all you’re ever gonna be is mean. Someday, I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me, and all you’re ever gonna be is mean. Why you gotta be so mean?””

    We woo girls know better 🙂 Love you and Lissa so much. I am proud of how we are taking this even if it really was a betrayal in all levels.

  6. June 2, 2011 11:16 am

    Like I said with JL and Lissa, I think you girls are pretty inside and out. You girls worked hard for everything you achieved and you don’t deserve such comments. I admire you girls keeping your head high even though words hurt you. Stay strong and love your blog!:) TC!

  7. June 2, 2011 11:30 am

    I still wonder why she did this. bloggers shouldnt hate each other. stay strong and God bless!

  8. Anon permalink
    June 2, 2011 11:48 am

    Hey Tricia! I know how freaky this might sound but you are seriously my biggest girl crush! I hope you know that all the negative things people might be saying about you is surely just out of jealousy. I love how you seem to portray yourself so honestly and sincerely in your blog. I’m a very close follower (I’m sorry if I’m starting to sound stalker-y haha ) and I just love you!!

  9. Chedza permalink
    June 2, 2011 11:52 am

    Hi Pat
    You’re beautiful and inspiring!!! Ignore haters…the fact of the matter is, no one will ever hate you for any other reason than the fact they want to be YOU!! So keep your head up and stay strong!! You have a lot more people on your side who love you than the silly few who hate you. Behind every great and successful person, there’s gonna be a few mean haters who wish they had the kind of influence you have.
    I am in Botswana and I know who you are, and I hadnt heard of those girls until this post…that should show you something. You’re amazing Pat. I love your blog and great style. Keep pressing on. Know that we have your back no matter what!!!
    Much love………all the way from Botswana, Africa
    xoxo
    Chedza

  10. June 2, 2011 1:32 pm

    I admire you for keeping your head high and just ignoring the entire thing. Giving them the reaction that they want would just provoke them more. I know it hurts, and sometimes we think retaliating is a good idea, but you were such a lady in this situation. 🙂 Props.

  11. Cariza permalink
    June 2, 2011 1:47 pm

    I’m one of your readers since ever and I’ll always be a fan. 🙂 You’re such an inspiration to me and I don’t think that’ll ever change, no matter what other people say about you. Ignore the haters and keep doing what you do best. ❤
    And for the record, I don't think you look like a girl version of JB at all! You're way prettier.

    Lots of love,
    Cariza ❤

  12. Thea permalink
    June 2, 2011 2:06 pm

    Stay strong & continue to be an inspiration! You totally inspired me, as well as others to handle things like this maturely and with class. God bless! Me & all your supporters will always be here for you. You go girl! :))

  13. June 2, 2011 2:08 pm

    I just admire how mature you are in handling this situation. You know you’re right. You don’t have to do a mean thing, same with what they did to you. Sabi nga sa ad ni Belo, don’t get mad, get beautiful. Then, they will all die with envy. Hihi. Joke lang. I totally love you girl and will always follow your blog. Stay cool! Kisses from Pink MagaLine 🙂

  14. Rach =) permalink
    June 2, 2011 2:11 pm

    Look hun, big names or just the average, you will always encounter people with crab mentality. Some people will step on other people just to prove whatever their point is. So keep your feet on the ground even you’re wearing nice shoes 😉 and keep your head up.

    And for a second I thought it was Miley Cyrus who was the beiber girl. =) I think that’s hot.

    @JL – I still ❤ the lippies you wear.

    xx

  15. Fan permalink
    June 2, 2011 4:14 pm

    Lexi Gancayco and her friend called your sister prito and said she’s super exposed and stuff in one screenshot about JL. I just noticed now: http://karmafashpolice.tumblr.com/post/6065779617/the-screencap

    So mean. And their conversation is oozing with jealousy! You really are way better than them!

  16. Patty Mendoza permalink
    June 2, 2011 4:23 pm

    This is exactly why I continue to support you and your blog. Stay strong and mature, Pat. 🙂

  17. Jane permalink
    June 2, 2011 4:45 pm

    Insecurity is a crime !!! Your just too pretty enough that others might get insecure with you.I Love everything on your blog.My day isn’t complete without visiting your blog.Don’t mind people who hates you.God Bless. 🙂

  18. June 2, 2011 6:13 pm

    You are beautiful! jus ignore them, they envy you!

    Anyway, amazing blog. I’ve just found it and i’m already a fan.

    kisses,bia.

  19. GrillQueen permalink
    June 3, 2011 3:06 am

    You know you deserve better than this. Haters will be haters.. they feel that they’re better than everyone else but at the end of the day, it’s them that feel empty and lonely inside.. Stay strong! Frenemies might be there but all there is to it are GREAT FRIENDS who stand by you through everything.. Keep smiling 🙂

  20. June 3, 2011 3:32 am

    they’re just jealous!! dont mind them… just stay pretty as always=)

    lovin’ your blog even more=) hahaha

  21. June 3, 2011 3:39 am

    ah haters yeah it means they are insecure of what you have, your more talented and beautiful. nuff said. keep up the good work! 😀

  22. Delle Tercia permalink
    June 3, 2011 3:51 am

    Way to go, girl. Facing the issue and posting it here is such a courageous act. I admire your maturity and humanity in taking things like this. I’m loving your blog more. Sabi nga nila,”ang punong hitik sa bunga, laging binabato.” Eh, sikat ka, kaya “ikaw na!”So keep strong,girl!

  23. Mars permalink
    June 3, 2011 6:19 am

    I knew there was something sinister with that girl. You go Patricia. Love you and your sister.

  24. June 3, 2011 7:09 am

    Aww, Don’t worry miss Patricia. I and the blog readers are here to support you:) Don’t mind them.. Continue to inspire us! We Love You!! 🙂 ❤

  25. June 3, 2011 9:15 am

    So sad.Anyway, nasa showtime ka ba the other day?

  26. ANONYMOUS permalink
    June 3, 2011 9:42 am

    I knew lexi since I was in gradeschool and I am not really surprised she did this. She was one of the popular girls she was not mean but she was not approachable either. What she did was so immature! I was really shocked from all the success she is getting and finally her true colors came out. I’m really sorry for what she did to you but you know that this will just make you stronger and you will know your true friends. I wish you all the success. 🙂

  27. Maki permalink
    June 3, 2011 11:14 am

    “If you’re all wondering.. NO, I do not hate Lexi or those people involved, more of disappointed and I feel betrayed. NO, I will not talk smack about her or her friends just as they did. NO, I will not gang up on her of her friends. NO. NEVER. I’ll be the bigger person and try my VERY best to keep mum about this.”

    I just like what you’ve pointed out here. It just goes to show how mature you are. It just saddens me that someone would be doing something like this – saying unhealthy things behind other people’s backs. But what saddens me MORE is that other people (who are in no way involved in this issue) bashes Lexi, branding her with some derogatory names and adding more insult to the injury. By doing so, they are in no way different to what they deem her as. 😦

    And in those words of yours which I’ve quoted, I am more that sure that you will not do what these other people have done. Cheers to you! 🙂

    PS. YOU ROCK!

  28. June 3, 2011 12:40 pm

    Hi Patricia, kudos!!! I admire your strength and courage! Just remember that this too shall pass! 🙂 Gpd bless!

  29. June 3, 2011 7:50 pm

    Hello pat, you are really great in blogging. ignore the others and stay strong. Because I really adore your blog and your style, you’re my 1st fave blogger from Philipines, so you’re inspiring. It’s like you’re one of my fashion muses. So, keep strong, dear!! you’re beautiful, take this as a compliment, because you’re beautiful, unique beauty 🙂
    http://ninnda.tumblr.com

  30. mARINA permalink
    June 3, 2011 8:41 pm

    why’d you even post something about it? I thought you said you woudlnt stoop down to her level? you just did…. You are my idol!!:( i look up to you.

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      June 6, 2011 1:46 pm

      In all honestly and sincerely, thank you so much for calling me your idol, REALLY! The thing is, it was kinda ironic how you called me that after pretty much telling me that opening up to my readers was just as bad as Lexi laughing her butt off cause I look like a boy.. I’m not mad, please don’t get me wrong. I can’t get mad at someone for voicing out their opinions, I just did in this post. But just allow me to explain a few things to you, I hope you don’t take this against me cause I don’t take your comment against you, never will!

      Okay.. Why did I post something about it? Well.. I just needed an outlet. If you don’t already know, my blog is like my daily diary — a diary which I share with the entire world. I say what I feel, who I saw, what I did and so on. And just like any person, my life does have ups and downs and sadly, this was a bit of a downer in my opinion..

      Dear, I never said that I wouldn’t stoop down to her level. I was never going to anyway. Reading this comment of yours really hurt my feelings.. But that’s your opinion. The thing is, putting me on the same level as Lexi? Please don’t. In this post of mine what did I do? I opened up to my readers, that’s what bloggers do. Did I call anyone names? No. But she did. Did I hate on anyone? Nope. I’m not even mad. Just REALLY hurt. Did I make fun or poke fun at her? Nope. But she sure did. Did I talk smack about her? Nope. Not one bit. I don’t think that would be right no matter what was said or done.. Marina, if you only know every thing that was said about me you’d understand. Karma Fashion Police had to DM some of the things she said about me cause even he/she said it was to mean to be posted online.

      If you ask me, I treat my readers like friends. They pretty much know about me and what I do. So what’s wrong with opening up to them and telling them how I feel from time to time? It’s not like I sulk every single day? I honestly wouldn’t even read my blog if that were so, haha!! 🙂 Me replying to you is not meant to spark a fight, Marina. Please, please don’t get me wrong!! I just want you and I to understand each other. I just hope that you now know why I decided to post such a thing..

      PEACE!!

  31. Elena permalink
    June 3, 2011 10:47 pm

    maybe they were just saying justin looks like a girl 😦 i’m sorry it made you sad. i think you’re really cool and pretty… [he is pretty, btw)

  32. Kitten Fallorina permalink
    June 3, 2011 11:59 pm

    Hi Patricia!

    It saddens me to learn how people can do such thing and act so immaturely by bashing others. What saddens me even more is the fact that the victims who were attacked are people who we admire most. You and JL. It is disappointing how someone could be so cruel and mean by throwing negative comments and pretented to be kind at the same time stabbing you. behind your back BIG TIME.

    Nonetheless, your maturity in handling this situation is beyond remarkable. Your courage and strength is inspiring in everyway there is. You have proven to all how good your heart is and that matters most to us. At the end of the day, your beauty inside and out will overshine the negativity these ‘people’ are hurling you.

    You remain as always inspirational. Remember that!

    Keep you head up high and your feet on the ground. Stay strong!!!

  33. June 4, 2011 5:29 am

    http://thesecondshop.multiply.com/journal/item/26/SCAMMER?amp&amp

    Just saw this and made me think about her and what she does with her life.

    My Advice:
    Relax…90% of haters are begging for love. 10% just want a little attention -Paulo Coelho

    You’re still loved. 🙂

  34. June 4, 2011 12:30 pm

    “Behind every successful person was a bunch of haters.” 😉

  35. June 4, 2011 6:01 pm

    HATER
    A person who pretends to act happy for your successes than trash talks you behind your back. Someone who most likely dosen’t have shit to work with and has to hate on people who move up in the world. This term could be used to describe anyone who hates on another person for ‘good reasons. They will turn your good qualities around and make it look like something bad because they just arent happy with themselves and can’t achieve anywhere near what you have.

    Perfect for your situation ate Pat! Don’t mind her she’s just jealous! Please continue inspiring us! ❤

  36. Chels permalink
    June 5, 2011 12:32 pm

    I totally understand what youre saying but you posting the issue is just as pathetic as her hating on you girls. This is what saddens me…you are claiming to take the high road yet you are accumulating comments from people pitying you making it as though you are the victim. Hate is all over this world, get used to it. You said so yourself that you have gossiped about others before, youre right no body is perfect but you cant be mad at those for gossiping about you. Thats called Karma and it will always bite you in the ass if you dont choose to change your ways. Just words of advice for you.

    • Patricia Prieto permalink*
      June 6, 2011 1:25 pm

      Thank you for understanding (I think), but then honestly why take it back? I didn’t post such a thing for pity from my readers. FAR FROM IT. Please. So, if you could be so kind as to not call me names such as pathetic, especially when it comes to this issue, I would greatly appreciate it. Have you ever been called names (just as I was)? Been called “bobo” which means stupid in Filipino if you didn’t know or what if you were told that you looked like a boy? Combine those three together and POOF that’s what pushed me to write such a thing. If my readers decide to comment then that’s them and I wholeheartedly appreciate the fact that they even find the time and make an effort to even type something in this little white box to give me a piece of sweet advice or just to help cheer me up somehow. Like what I said, I’m not asking for pity. I am a blogger and I write about stuff, what more of what I feel? I am not bashing anyone but actually making myself and my readers understand the situation. I have gotten a lot of queries about it. I am not asking for anything but simple acts of kindness. If they see me as the victim well, you know what? I really was the victim of being called names, called stupid and was said to look like a boy so maybe it is my right to voice out my opinion the same way you did.

      Yes, I have gossiped. Haven’t you? No one has never not gossiped, cause they’d be lying if they say they haven’t. I’m sorry I felt HURT.. NOT MAD. HURT. Hurt at the fact that a friend from way back decided to say such things about me and even poke fun at me. I would never go as far as she did. Have you seen or even read EVERYTHING she said in that stupid Facebook thread of theirs? Cause even you will be scandalized. It was below the belt — beyond it even. Some were even so bad that the person who found them didn’t even have the heart to post it.

      So, are you saying that this insanity that’s happened to me is karma? I don’t know. Fate? I don’t know, only God knows. But for what it’s worth I can say that I did not deserve to be called the things she called me. NO ONE IS for that matter!!! I’m not trying to start a fight or whatever but I’d like it if some people would just stop and think for a sec and maybe just put yourselves in my place. I intended to stop talking about this matter already. I have actually stopped do I am simply reacting to your comment. Again, thank you for your insight. I don’t take it against you, it’s more like I just need to explain my side.

      PEACE.

  37. June 5, 2011 1:58 pm

    As what I said on JL’s blog, haters need a life, or a hobby. They should just keep em mouths shut if they ain’t saying anything good. And remember, you’re nobody unless you’re hated on.

    Be strong. Much love, m.

  38. Sofa Girl permalink
    June 9, 2011 6:33 am

    ang mean naman ni LEXI . ..Dnt worry patricia… mas pretty ka ingit lng un… Hello look at her,, replacement lng cya kaya nasali cya sa candies fashion show at hello look at her with Camille, Laureen and Kryz sa show…. Hell different para cyang fan nung tatlo.,,pang second hand lng ahahhahahhaha like her thing….. UGLY FAce kaya pall she delete me na in Facebook….. at hello LEXI is low class blogger purr second hand ,… dahhhhhhhhhhhhh Haters will die Pat!!!

  39. Peace permalink
    June 11, 2011 3:59 pm

    There was no excuse for what she did but I genuinely feel bad for everyone involved in this situation. Even though she was the one who said those hurtful things, they were supposed to remain private. Second, what she said was extremely offensive to those people that she talked about. But all this hate will just cause stress and the world needs more love– even you weren’t the one who started the hatred.

    “Forgive others as God has forgiven you.”

    Maybe not now, maybe not in a week, not in a year, not in 5 years.. but consider it though 🙂

  40. June 21, 2011 6:19 pm

    If it’ll be make you feel any better at all, I got bullied by my PROFESSORS. Just like you, I wasn’t mad, I was damn disappointed by them. They call themselves professionals and that’s all they do? They lost all my respect for them but then I told myself they’re so bored with their lives that the only thing they can do is to make fun of their own student. HOW PATHETIC. Now, that is what I call pathetic. Cheer up! 🙂 Just don’t do the same thing towards them though cause it’ll make you as same as they are. 😉

  41. June 24, 2011 6:51 am

    doesn’t matter what they say. haters gonna be haters! your blog is awesome and they know it! Jealous meanies! Hugs for you! >:D<

  42. June 25, 2011 7:49 am

    Go Patricia! Stay strong. What some people say about you doesnt resemble who you are as a person, it resembles who they really are as a human being. God bless. After a hurricane comes a rainbow. 😀

Leave a Reply

