Skip to content

>The White Tee Project: Part One

August 10, 2010

>If some of you might remember I went to the Manila Art Exhibit last, last week which was held at SMX. If some of you have been following my blog –which I do hope most of you have been doing so– I mentioned that I had to take a photo at the photo wall as proof to my teacher, Ms Amina that I went. And why did I.. Or should I say we, cause it was for everyone in my class, need such proof? Cause we each had go to the exhibit and choose one piece of art which inspired us the most and deconstruct a white tee with that specific piece as our inspiration. We were given no instructions and no boundaries.. Except for one rule — Use a white t-shirt.

I am proud to say that many of my classmates came up with exquisite pieces. It makes one see that with the simplest of things, such as a white shirt, one can create a beautiful piece of art, or in our case a beautiful piece of clothing (which can too be considered as art as well, haha)! You can see what really inspired everyone, from the materials used like leather, chains, pins, paint, dye, scrap cloth, feathers, pearls, beads, flowers and so much more! Really, the possibilities were pretty much endless! And I am so happy that Ms Amina gave us this assignment to us, it was a very interesting one.

Okay, so I’ll be posting some teaser-esque shots of what some of our shirts came out to be (since not everyone had time to report).. But why teasers? Well, you’ll all just have to wait and see the second part of my blog. But for sure you’ll get to see the each shirt in full! I promise! All these photos were taken by my friend Tippi Sy. Enjoy!
My shirt:
Nickys shirt:
Nicos shirt:
Tippis shirt:
Stephs shirt:
Dans shirt (Ms Amina made me wear it to see how it would look like when someone puts it on):
Tita (aunt) Lizels shirt:
Charlies shirt:
Dondies shirt:
Shanes shirt:I placed links on some names, just in case you might wanna ask them a few things, see their work or just simply discover a new blog, so hover over them links if you please. And if you’re wondering what particular pieces inspired them, I’ll ask my classmates to email me the photo of the certain painting or sculpture they chose and to explain why so I can post it here on my blog. I’ll do so maybe three to five at a time, the more the merrier anyway, right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 3:24 pm

    >Haha My untouched DevArt… awww. 🙂 Here's my flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sytippi/. I update this more. 🙂

  2. August 10, 2010 3:29 pm

    >Awesome! Thanks for telling me, it's cause I just got the link from Facebook, haha 😛

  3. August 11, 2010 4:48 am

    >wow! awesome shirts! everyone's so creative 🙂

  4. August 11, 2010 6:30 am

    >Awww, thank you! I'll definitely post the whole shirts and their explanations come the next few weeks so you can all see 🙂

Leave a Reply

